11 June 2020

Mumbrella Publish Awards return with free entry for those recently made redundant

Mumbrella has launched the 2020 Publish Awards which will be run as an online-only event due to challenges surrounding COVID-19.


To support the Australian and New Zealand publishing industry and ensure the awards are a platform to promote the best work and talent in the industry, for 2020 Mumbrella has lowered the price of entry.


Furthermore, publishing professionals whose roles have been made redundant in 2020 will be given free entry into categories for individuals such as Young Writer of the Year, Columnist of the Year, Designer of the Year and more. More details can be found in the entry criteria here.


The structure of the Publish Awards remains largely the same, with entry via an online portal and live judging still taking place, albeit virtually rather than in-person.


For this year only, physical publications will not be part of the entry requirements, acknowledging that it may be difficult for some to access the required amount of copies from offices with various lockdown measures in place. Instead, soft copies will be required in their place.


There are 32 categories this year including two new ones: Best Response to COVID-19 which will run this year only, and Best Publisher-led Advertising Campaign.


Winners will be announced in a live video on November 5.


Entries are open now with the first entry deadline on August 14.


The Mumbrella Publish conference will not run in 2020.



By Damian Francis


Source: Mumbrella